All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It would be most beneficial if all parents of school-aged children were required to volunteer at their children’s schools. This requirement would provide parents the opportunity to view the school atmosphere, and their child’s behavior. Public school is essentially free, so giving back to the school community and spending a few hours volunteering is the least they can do.

Teachers and parents have one of the most influential roles on a growing child’s life. They each provide the child love and support to reach their full potential, and/or strict discipline to keep the child on task. If parents had the opportunity to volunteer at their child’s school, it would allow the parent to see how teachers and students interact, as well as how well their child is behaving and developing. They will be able to check on their child, which may prevent bullying and increase academic performance. If a child is subject to bullying at school, and a volunteer parent is there watching over the students, the bully may retreat because of the authority figure (parent) present. Depending on the age of the child, having a parent at school can increase the child’s performance in the classroom as a way to impress his/her parent.

Public school offers so many valuable opportunities to students in the community. Compared to private schools, where students must pay for their education, the public school system is essentially free. Education is offered to students and families that could not have otherwise afforded it. In return for the services the education system provides for a child, the parent of said child should be able to offer his/her time to volunteer every once in awhile.

It has been disputed that volunteering at your child’s school, may potentially harm them in some ways. The child may feel embarrassed to have his/her parent there, or may act out to receive attention. There are many places in a school where volunteers could help out. For example, the parent could volunteer at the front office, where most students do not go in and out of, during the day. The parent would still be able to get a feel for how the school community comes together, but would not have any affect on the child’s actions or feelings throughout the day.

In conclusion, all parents should be required to volunteer at their child’s schools. It would prove helpful, not only to the school as a function, but to the children as well. Volunteering is a way to give back to the school community, and would be appreciated by the public school systems.