All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Many of us had spent our time in school when we were children, thus many of our parents actually had some voluntary works in the school. For example, traffic guides at crosswork, catering service in lunch time, installing equipments for a small festival may be the representative work done by parents. However, some parents do not want to be a volunteer and participate in those. Therefore, some may argues that all parents should be required to volunteer time to their children’s schools. It seems compelling, however, I will contend in the following essay that this statement is quite implausible and idealistic assertion.

First, admittedly, there may be some merits for requiring all parents to have volunteer time. If the parents participate in the schools’ activities, they may have a responsibility to their children’s schools, thus they also may feel solidarity which can help introduce the identification with the schools. Finally, they may be more resposive to the schools’ policies the fact that it may be beneficial to make the schools more better and responsible to their students. Furthermore, the friendships between the parents and their children may be enhanced than before when they do not involve in the volunteer jobs for the schools.

However, this statement that the volunteer time have to be mandatory for all parents seems implausible. Many parents, not just fathers, may have their own jobs for their stipends and professional careers. If the policy stated in the statement is realized, they may have been suffered from cessation of their regular jobs. In fact, the volunteer time may be in early morning or late night, however in this case, the parents are extorted their rest then appealing extreme fatigue which is likely to cause the inability in their performance in their own occupations. Moreover, using part-timers for the volunteer time may be more efficient for the safety and happiness of their children. From many empirical cases, the paid workers are likely to have a more responsibility to their jobs than volunteers. The problem is the cost, however, I think it is more better to demand proportional money for the cost to each of the parents. To sum up, the statement that asserting to make volunteer time being mandatory to all parents is neither efficient nor plausible.