Essay topics: Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Environmental degradation is one of the most severe and influential problem in the contemporary human society in all of the world. Especially, a spate of endangered species are now threathened by anthropogenic factors made by human beings. That’s why some people argue that society should make efforts to save those species, however, only if the latent extinction of those species is the result of human activities because of the limited resources which can be input for them. Nevertheless it seems plausible, I do not agree this statement because of the reasons I would like to elaborate at the following essay.

First, we must have a responsibility to the entire ecological system, not only in part of the potential results of human activities. As abovementioned, environmental degradation have been exacerbated by the development of civilzation after industrialization and precipitate demographic growth in Earth. Many peoples, in fact, have asserted that we cannot be able to protect all of the species in ecological system because using natural resources as foods, medicines, and industries for developments is inevitable to human beings. However, if we do not care enough to the environment problem, we may have to experience the unpredictable results. In contemporary, despite of the scientific efforts, climate changes have always been more severe than before. Unless this catastrophic flow do not be stopped, human beings are likely to suffer from the extreme environment. We may not be able to use car because of the depletion of fossil fuels, or computer because of insufficient electricity from any fuels.

Furthermore, we cannot be sure that we are able to clearly determine the causal relation between the human activities and each of the extinctions of species. Any scientific theory have been destroyed by new perspectives, thus we are not able to believe that the extant explanation about the extinctions of those species are surely correct. Moreover, butterfly effect, which means that a tiny factor can result in a tremendous results, makes unpredictable the consequence of our daily behavior. For example, a little of synthetic detergent used for laundry in last night may effect many species in nature in the ecological system. It may be just few effects in contemporary period, however, we do not know what the factor results after one, ten, or one hundred years. To sum up, we cannot be able to be sure about the possible consequences from the human activities.

In conclusion, in spite of the limits of our possible resources for protecting the extinction of species, in the lights of the counterparts above, this statement cannot be fully agreed with. Society have to make more efforts than before to save endangered species because of the moral responsibility in human beings and the unpredictable consequences from the extinction of species.