In any profession—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Many leaderships in the world had been corrupted by sustaining their own power during the very long-term period. That’s why some people have argued that any power in all of the field have to step down after five years. It seems quite plausible, however, we can not be clearly sure about the fact, in our history, the new leadership had been delivered a revitalization to success for a society.

Admittedly, in certain circumstances, power in any field needs to step down itself after five years. For example, North Korean dictatorship have sustained its own regime during 70 years more. Nevertheless each of the chairmans in North Korea, they are known as the most notorious dynasty in the world, which so called Kim Dynasty. In North Korea, about 22 millions people are suffering in extreme poverty. Furthermore, the regime have threatened the Earth by its nuclear weapons. It is a conspicuous problem that the continuous leadership in North Korea. On the other hand, in South Korea, the long-term leaderships in field of business have been problematic issue in its society. They called ‘Jaebeol’, which means the leadership’s descending to each of their own sons in the major company of South Korea, such as Samsung, SK, Hyundai, etc. Representatively, in the impeachment of the former S. Korean president Park, Geun-Hye, she have been accused of the malfeasance that receives the illegal bribes from those company. The major companies in South Korea have been such sacrosanct power that even a national president have been likely to depend them. To sum up, stepping down any leadership seems necessary to make a society being successful and prosperous.

However, leadership which is permanent or quite be persistent during long-term may be beneficial in some of the fields. German political leadership, for instance, have delivered the successful reunification with the counterparts, East Germany. The former prime minister, Helmut Kohl, had sustained its regime during about sixteen years in the late of the 20th century. When the leadership is in current, West Germany had became clearly the most prosperous country in Europe, and the state could achieve the historical reunification in Germany, which had divided each of democratic and communist country. The tenure system in universities and colleges also have shown the merits of long-term leadership in educational fields. If the professors have suffered from an instability for their dismiss, they may not be able to freely proclaim their own creative thought and theories. Such a system can vouch for the creativity and revitalization in the educational field.

In conclusion, some of the leadership have to be stepped down after five years or even some short-term period. However, in the lights of the counterparts above, the claim that any power in a variety of field should have to abrogate itself can not be fully agreed with.