Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The author says that any leadership have to step down after five years in any field because the revitalization through new leadership is most definite way to success for any enterprise. It seems plausible, however, this statement may be too generalized to be accepted for us in any circumstances in leadership because of the reasons I would like to elaborate at the following essay.

Admittedly, in certain circumstances, the leadership should be supplanted by a new enterprise according to the famous maxim, “Absolute power corrupts absolutely.” In many historical examples, the axiom had been heard very correctly. The dictatorships during 20th century or absolute monarchy in ancient and medieval age is the most representative instance to prove the statement is clearly true. For example, in South Korea, the military dictatorship had regimed during about thrity years from 1961 to 1987, until the civil democratic movement had successed finally. During the regime, many corruption scandal related to politics and business had been occurred thus much national system had been used in favor of their leadership, not for the entire citizens. The enterprise in field of business had been also sustained in very long-term period, thus called ‘Jaebeol’ which means the operating leadership in a group of company only based on the owner’s family. Nevertheless Samsung, one of the most powerful Jaebeol in S. Korea, has achieved significant achievement in its field, however, its corruption scandal with the former South Korean president Park Geun-Hye was the consequential factor for the impeachment of her in 2017. In summary, the author’s statement asserting the revitalization of leadership seems quite apropos in certain circumstances.

However, the period of five years may be too short to achieve phenomenal exploits when the leadership is incumbent. That’s actually why discussion about necessity to make longer the remainder of South Korean president – only five years and cannot be reelected. The Sunshine Policy, which was a ingenious trial to have a beneficial, reciprocal relationship with North Korea during the presidency of Kim Dae-Jung, had been sustained in ten years, when the liberal party had regimed. The new policy had achieved many peaceful actions for denuclearization in Korean peninsula, and he awarded the Novel Peace Prize in 2000, the policy finally was stupefied after 2007, when the conserative regime win the presidential election. On the other hand, Ostpolitik, which led West Germany to reconcile with Communist countries including East Germany, had been acted during about 25 years from the inauguration of Willy Brandt to the reunification of Germany in 1990.

In conclusion, the statement that empathizes the change of leadership by new enterprise seems compelling, however, in the lights of counterparts above, the topic cannot be fully agreed with.