All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Children spent most of their time in school to get a proper education to become a functional adult in the future. One might suggest the policy that every parents should spend some of their time to volunteer and help their children at schools. While this policy seems to have some merit, it has some flawed that is needed to be addressed first before we actually force this policy. “Requiring” whole population to do something is not going to be effective due to the diverse situation each people have.

First, forcing parent to volunteer their time to help their children might be beneficial to the children, but on a generic sense, it might not be a good use of adult’s time. One might use those time create more impact to the society, which would have a wider effect. For instance, let take Dr. Achawit, one of the best surgery doctor in Thailand. Let’s imagine that he operate on one person every 2 hours. From this, we can say that he technically save 1 life every two hours. If we were to required to spend time with his children, then those time lost is he could have been use on operating on people who needed that. Imagine how absurd it is if a patient can not have their operation because their doctor were forced to spend time with their children. Encouraging parents to spend more time with their children and helping the schools is one thing, but making it mandatory might not be the best idea.

Continuing from the point that this policy might not be the best way to make adult spend their time, not all parents have something to offer to their offsprings. A historian who acquired complete knowledge regarding of Greek war and battles possibly is not the best person to help a children who have problem with their math multiplication homework. Instead, this historian’s time should be spent on teaching college students to learn more about the topics he knows about. Never forget that the one this historian will be teaching is definitely someone else child, so if we all employ this strategy of serving the best people that each person can given their knowledge, rather than forcing the support to direct to their children who might not need it at this moment, then it might be more appropriate.

One might argue that we are now in a society where parents and children spend less time together than ever. Enforcing this policy would allowed the families to spend more time together. While this seems reasonable, we must not forget that there are alternatives on how families can spend their time together. Instead of having parents helping their children with their schools, which the parent might not be good at, they could be having dinner at fancy restaurants or watching on of the latest Marvel’s movies. Instead being force to spend time together regarding education, they could have spend those time doing other available activities. If we really want to support this, we could have employ a policy where parents can take more time off to be with their children. Thus, enforcing the parents to help their children to be a mandatory policy is not so convincing compared.

As a result, the policy of requiring all parents to volunteer their time for their children might not be the best idea to solve existing problems. While it is undeniable that parents spend less time with their children, and that some parents could have been a good teacher, this will definitely not be true for everyone. Instead of enforcing everyone to this policy, we should try to encourage the policy instead to the one who want to participate. Enforcing a policy naively tends to brings more harm than good.