The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

History of mankind have been going on for many thousand of years. While this durations does not seems significant compared to the billion of years of history of Earth itself, much of the human history is dense and full with complex events and concepts of society and culture, which can not be seen in any other species. There is an argument that to learn benefit is to realized that people nowadays were not so different than people from the past. However, this is not entirely true. There are much more benefits to gain from learning about the history of mankind.

First and foremost, there is a cliche saying about history that to learn from the history is to learn how to not repeat the same mistakes. This point alone makes history worthwhile to study. One could learn ton of knowledge by observing event in the past. For instance, throughout history of mankind, human have always show some kind of segregation, either between nations, sex, skin color, or even ideas. And we can learn from the history that this aspect of mankind is not so effective. Due to a difference in idea of democracy and communism, men have fought many wars just to prove that what their faction thought were right. Due to a difference in skin color, black people have been suppressed in a society for over a century. Now, we are in a work where people learn that segregation is not a good strategy to adopt as we have seen many bad examples in the past.

Moreover, learning about the past of mankind would make one appreciate our current era even more. People might complain how bad our society were, but if they were to learn how bad it was in the past, they would not have complained about it in the first place. In the past, men would have to go to ward, the expected age of men and women is less than 40, women did not have the right to vote, and goes on the list. By learning about the past, we get to appreciate what we have today that human in the past can not even imagine.

Finally, history of human have also shown an evolving aspect of human culture. While it is true that learning about history let us see the aspect in which human remains the same, such as the hierarchical structure of society, or an economics value exchanging system, there are other aspects of human that continuing to change throughout history which is as benefit to learn as well. For instance, the evolving how lifestyle of human. At first, human began their life hunting for food as a nomad. Then come the agriculture, where human stay at the home and produce more product to feed their families. Next comes the industrial, where people work together in a factory which could produce even more product. There are much more aspects to learn from our history, both the aspect that remain the same and one that is changing throughout history.

In conclusion, although it is true that learning history help a person to realized the truth about how people nowadays are not so different compared to the past in some aspect, however, there are much more benefit to gain from learning history. One could avoid mistakes are unwanted consequences just by studying history and learn from mistakes of others. In addition, studying about history let us appreciate our current world. And there are also many aspects of human which have been evolving and is also as benefit to learn as the aspect which remains the same.