"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

While it may be true that Interview-centered method is superior to observation-centered method, Dr. Karp failed to make a reasonable argument. His evidence proposed were flawed, and the article consists of multiple unwarrant assumption. Thus, the article is not strong enough to dispute Dr. Field work nor debasing observation-centered approach.

First and foremost, Dr. Garp assumes that the interviews' result of his graduate students were valid, but given no evidence to support this. The only information we know about the result of the interviews was that children living in the group of islands in Tertia spend more time talking about their real parents. This sentence alone is full of logical flaws. The author didn't specify the sample size of the interviews. If the team had only asked 10 people, there is a high probability that the only children who were asked happened to talks more about their parents. In addition, the article does not describes how the interview was conducted. If the interviewer asked the children about their family, then the children would inevitably have to talk about their parents, regardless of the one who were taking care of them.

Even if the previous assumption were true, that the interviews was done correctly and its validity is confirmed. Even so, just only because these children were spending more time discussing about their biological parents does not negate the fact that Dr.Field proposed about most children were reared by the entire village. To assumes that the children were not reared by the village just because they talked more about their parents is big assumption with no evidence from Dr. Karp. It might just be the case that the children like to talk about their parents. If the author had given more evidence regarding how the children were actually cared for by their parents, then it would have bolster the article claim.

Last but not least, Dr. Karp biggest flawed was the assumption that the interview-centered approach to be more accurate in understanding cultures, even in other island. This assumption has no supporting evidence at all. It is incorrect to assumes that just because the interview-centered approach had worked in Tertia, it would work elsewhere. Granted that the interview-centered method is more accurate in Tertia, the observation-centered might still be more accurate in other islands. The contextual details of the island's culture might be the factor to determine which approach is more preferable. To say that observation-centered approach will be less accurate compared to interview-centered approach in other island cultures is not convincing.

In conclusion, there are many evidence needed before we can take Dr. Karp article seriously. We need to check the credibility of the interview results, the proof that children were actually spending more time with their parents, and that the interview-centered approach would work elsewhere. If these three questions were answers, the argument would argument would be more sound.