A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

There is a saying that today youth is a future of the nation. This undoubtedly is true as today youngster would certainly grow up to become adults in the future societies. From this logic, we can not treat this question perfunctorily as our future of the entire society depends on it.

There is one school of thought that suggest all of the students in the country to attend identical curriculum until college level. This is reasonable to some level. It is guaranteed that all schools would have same education quality, thus removing unfairness between children without money or opportunity to apply for elite schools. Furthuremore, studying the same curriculum unify the nation as everyone learn the same things, able to reconcile more of their knowledge with other.

However, if we were to implement a nation-wide curriculum, we can not personalize the curriculum to the student based on their needs. Take for instance, a group of children in one school who has excel in mathematics to the level beyond their classmates. It is more preferable to let them focus on higher mathematics rather than make them endure not so difficult level mathematics just because they have to wait for their friends. Talented of elite students should not be sacrifice just so that normal student could catch up to that.

Furthermore, there might be a need to adjust curriculum that only exists on some part of the country. Let say that in California, schools would want to add the history of big techn companies that make California one of the best city to work in. While this is relevant for children in California, it is not necessary needed for students outside of the states such as New York. National wide curriculum eliminate the flexibility for to adjust the course content based as all schools have to follow the same rule.

The most important question is how would one decide the "curriculum" for the country. Who get to decides what all the student in the schools would learn until the college. The one who knows there students the best is their teachers. It is reasonable given that they are the one who teach them, learn there strength and weakness, and get to think of the best way for each students to learn. It is difficult for a national curriculum to succeed as the course have to be generalize to all students. If curriculum is too generalize, it can not be good for everyone.

As a conclusion, while national wide curriculum seems interesting as every students get equal chance to learn the same content, there are still many potential problems with this approach. The elite students' potential would be wasted as schools can't proceed them to the more advance curriculum due to the restriction of the national curriculum policy. Having shared curriculum would also remove the possiblity to adjust the course to match either students or schools needs. Curriculum that is designed for everyone can not pleased everyone. So, it is more perferable for each schools to plan there own content that best serve their students.