The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette:

“Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many

consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive

discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption

of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year,

Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than

any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the

neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last

two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms.

The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many

serious gastrointestinal disorders."

The author asserts that motilac is able to prevent human from gastrointestinal disorders. Although the passage contains evidence, aiming to supports the claim, these evidence can not use in consideration due to the logical flaws and unclear relationship between the evidence to the argument of the author.

First and foremost, the author attempts to conviced the reader that motilac is effective by showing that there are many consumers who reported to have a better condition in digestive discomfort after consuming dietary supplements with notilac. The argument is logically flawed. We can't assumes that the motilac is effective just because there are people reporting that there illness dissapear due to the supplements. As we don't know what else is contained in the supplements, it might have been other substance which also occur in the supplments. This shows the author's confusion between correlation and causation. Just because two events co-occur does not always mean that they are related. The passage would have been more sound if the author had provided more reasons on how motilac is actually improving digestive conditions.

Second, the author also states that Greenhorne residents experienced fewer cases of gastrointestinal disorders last year after eight years of increasing of motilac supplements by 80%. Similar to the previous point, the author assumes that as the two events occured together, fewer disorders must have been caused by increased in motilac usage. This also, is logically incorrect. In addition,the author does not specify enough data on how the data was collected. How many hospitals are there in Greenhorne? If there are more than 100 hospitals, and only 5 of the hospitals were experiencing decreased number of cases with the disorders, then the assumption that motilac supplement must have been the caused is incorrect.

Similarly, the author linkage of steady increase in the number of patients with gastrointestinal symptoms in Etolin with the decreased in sales of motilac is also flawed. A intuitive counter example is that there might be third part event that caused the two events to happens. For instance, Etolin town might not have good economy in the past two years, leading to reduce in the supplement. In addition, hospitals can not afford to buy better equipment. Etolin town would still encountered an increase in number of patients and decreased in sale, but the decline motilac itself is not the caused.

While the author is trying to prove that motilac is the key to prevent serious gastrointestinal disorders, the author failed to give enough evidence for the reader to conclude the same. The author first states that many people who consumes motilac supplements report to become better, but did not go further into the details fo the report. Next, he shows past data from two cities, hoping to show a inverse relationship between the usafe of motilac substance and number of cases with gastrointestinal disorders. Nevertheless, the data from these cities can't be use to concludes that motilac is effective as the inverse relationship might be due to external factors.