The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette:

“Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many

consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive

discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption

of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year,

Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than

any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the

neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last

two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms.

The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many

serious gastrointestinal disorders."

The prompt argued that the motilac is effective in preventing gastrointestinal disorvers due the the decline of the Greenhorne community where the increased on the mechine is reported while an increasd digestive discomforted is increased in Etolin which saw a decline in motilac is observed. However, as the conclusion draw from on several unstated assumption, three alternative possible explanations from the stated fact.

To begin, the Greenhorne residents' declining reported gastrointestinal could be due to relocation of the resident to the neighboring town such Etolin. This could be the resulted of the chronic's sanitary issue faced around the five hospitals reported in the arguments; this is backed the facts that the motilac consumption was increasing in the last seven years, but however, the declined digestive disorder reported in the area is last year. Furthermore, the increased patients in Etolin is resulted on

Secondly, the residents on the Greenhorne could have visited the hospital in Etolin. Supported by the seven years of increased digestive medicines comsumpion, the hospitals in Greenhorne could be unable to resolve the disease, thus residents on the Greenhorne inclementally try alternative hospitals in the neighboring town such as Etolin. The declined motilac in Etolin could warrant this hypothesis: as its hospital are more efficient as resolving the digestive disorder, less sale of the mechine is necessary. Therefore, according to this theory, motilac can be proven as non-effective treatment for gastrointestinal symptoms.

The last possible explanation could be that the the report given by the hospitals of the towns does not account for the entire population. the five hosipitals in Greenhorne could have taken in the central town where sanitary systems are properly ensured where as the the hospital in Etolins are located in the rural city with a recent incidents of contaminations of the water sources. As increasing more patients suffers from more distressing gastroitestinal symption in Etolin, stronger treatment are used in Etolin which explained the declining sales in the last years.

As exemplified by the three alternative explanation which all accounts for the fact presented, the true conclusion regarding the effectiveness of motilac remains to be ambigruious.