The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette:

“Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many

consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year, Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms. The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

According to an article of the 'Greenhorne Gazette', the author argues that motilac is an effective way in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders. Although the author provides compelling evidence, there are other alternative explanations that rival the author's reasonings. The author ignores the supply and demand fundamentals.

Firstly, the author points out that Greenhorne residents showed less cases of gastrointestinal disorders compared to the residents in Etolin. This is assumed to be the result in the intake of Motalic; however, this reasoning could be due to the need of the supplement. In a study conducted at San Francisco State University, the testers concluded that as a person gets older, the production of motilac decreases (2019). For the author's explanation, the reason for the increase of motilac supplement use could be because there are more older residents in Greenhorne compared to Etolin.

Furthermore, the author fails to take into account of the population of each city. For example, if more people are residing in Greenhorne, then there is a more need for dietary supplements. On the other hand, if Etolin has a smaller population, then there is no need for a large production of suppliments containing motilac.

As the argument stands in its current state, the author fails to recognize the supply and demand fundamentals of their argument. Because of this, the author's argument is unsubstantial and flawed.