The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is said that the most effective way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones; however; I disagree with this statement. Although there may be merit in this argument, paying attention to both actions will allow a person to improve their learning and will learn how to distinguish from the two actions.

Firstly, while praising positive actions, it is also important to attend to the negative ones. While attending to both actions, it can cause a person to improve. For example, when teaching a student how to complete a task, such as mathematics, it is important to address the negative actions. If the negatives are ignored, the student would not know what they are doing wrong. When addressing the negative action, a teacher can point out so the student would know what to do in the future. Also, learning what they did wrong can help create a stronger foundation that will assist them when going on to more difficult topics in mathematics.

Furthermore, addressing negative actions while teaching could help a person distinguish from what is right and wrong. According to an article published by San Francisco State University, as children, it is important to address both positive and negative actions because our brains are in its early stage of development (2019). For example, if a child is bullying another child, it is important to teach the child that it is not appropriate to do so. If the child’s action was ignored, they will think it is acceptable to bully people and continue to do so while they get older.

The argument of praising positive actions while ignoring negative ones has its merritt. For example, only addressing the positive actions while teaching could result in a person to gain more confidence in themselves. In a study conducted by the Kinesiology Department at San Francisco State, when using positive reinforcement while teaching a child a sport skill, it helped the child learn the skill faster (2019). On the other hand, only praising positive actions could lead to a person being reluctant in changing.

It is argued that praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones is an effective way of teaching. I, on the other hand, believe this is false. Although praising the positive actions could lead a person in being more confident in themselves, ignoring the negative actions will hinder their learning. Addressing negative actions is equally important to addressing the positive ones because it will lead to improvements and learning the ability to distinguish from positive and negative actions.