The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art

department at the college.

“In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an

internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40

percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs,

located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a

number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is

sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible

working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design

business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of

Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in

a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

The author recommends that Linford College require its art department to require their students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before they graduate. Although the author provides sound evidence, their argument is flawed due to uncertaincies and lack of information from the author. The author fails to address if the survey represents the art department as a whole and the supply and demand of the intership.

Firstly, the author does not discuss the specifics of the survey. The author states how 90 percent of students who had an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation; however, does the participants in the survey represent the art deparment at Linford College? If the author had addressed this question, it would make their argument more reasonable. Also, the author should discuss the percentage of students who did an internship before graduation actually got a job afterwards. The survey did not mention if the partipants actually obtained a job, only stating that it increased their chances. Additionally, their increase of finding a job could be due to other reasons, such as having connections.

Furthermore, the author mentions that Skyway Designs are flexible and offer internships in all their deparments. Although this could be a positive outcome, the author should consider the supply and demand. For instance, if there are more students interested in one department at Skyway Designs, would they be able to accomodate those students? This issue should be addressed because not every student interested in a certain department will get what they desire and forcing them to intern in a different department.

On the other hand, the author does discuss that Skyway Designs does business with a number of companies in Linford City. Students who intern at this company would have a higher chance being hired there, that is if they are liked. However, this would also depend on the need of employees. If, for example, Skyway Designs have enough employees or does not have the budget to hire more employees, they would not hire the art students who interned there.

The author recommends that art students should intern at Skyway Designs before graduation. Although they provide reliable evidence, the author fails to address the population as a whole in the chosen survey and the supply and demand of interns at Skyway Designs. As it stands now, the argument is unsubstantial and flawed; however if the author addresses these uncertaincies it would make their argument stronger and mroe reasonable.