The following is a recommendation from the city manager of Bridge Bay.

“Last year, the number of visits to our local beach in Bridge Bay was 50 percent lower

than the year before. Early last year we ended our contract with Arko Trash Collection, a

company that had serviced local garbage collection for the past twenty years. We switched at that time to Satellite Waste Corporation, another trash collection company. In nearby Ocean Harbor, where Arko has continued to provide garbage collection, the beaches are experiencing record levels of attendance. Meanwhile, in Bridge Bay, complaints about garbage on our beach have increased this year. Clearly, inadequate garbage collection on our beach by Satellite has led to the significant drop in visitors. Therefore, in order to estore visitor numbers to our local beach, we recommend resuming our contract with Arko as soon as possible.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The city manage of Bridge Bay argues that the increase of garabge on the beach results in a drop of visitors and claims that resuming the contract with Arko Trash Collection will solve this problem. Although this could be a cause of the drop of visitors in Bridge Bay, the author fails to take into consideration of the time in which the visitors come and the popularity of the beaches that are compared.

Firstly, the author argues that Bridge Bay's visitors count decreased by fifty percent than the year before while Ocean Harbor increased this year. The aurthor believes this is due to the switch to Satellite Waste Corporation; however, the author fails to address what season these statistics came from. For example, the reason for the drop in visitors in Bridge Bay could be because the Winter was longer causing the weather to be colder. The cold weather would prevent any vistors from visiting Bridge Bay. If the author addressed this question, it would help evaluate the recommendation because it would give a better comparison of the amount of visitors that attend both beaches.

Furthermore, the author should also take into consideration of the population of the beach. For instance, of one beach is more popular than the other, this would result in more visitors there. This would result in more pollution at the more popular beach. Despite the change in garabage collection companies, it does not neccissarily mean that this is the reason for the significant drop in visitors at Bridge Bay. Addressing this question would make the author's recommenation more reasonable because it could create a new plan to increase the amount visitors at Bridge Bay.

The author, however, does make a good point in their argument when mentioning how garabge could be a factor in the drop in visitors. For example, visitors will more likely attened a clean beach than a dirity one. The author should include other places that Arko collections trash from. If it is shown that Arko cleans up other beaches that have more visitors, it would aid in the author's recommendation.

The author argues that resuming the contract with Arko Trash Collection will result in the restoration of visitor numbers at the local beach. The author however, fails to address the seasons in which visitors come more often and the popularity of the beaches they compared. As it stands now, there are unanswered questions that the author should consider, leaving the argument unsubstantial and flawed.