Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is argued that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s major field of study because acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated. I disagree with this claim because the courses are not correlated to a student’s major and they will not be interested in these courses.

Firstly, courses that are outside of a student’s major is uncorrelated to their major courses. This could be a hindrance to a student’s education because they would not have a strong and basic foundation. For example, if a student is a mathematics major they specialize in have honed in on their math skills. If the student takes a physiology class, they would not understand the basic human processes, resulting in a negative effect on their grade for that class. Another example is if a student is English major taking a music class. The two subjects do not correlate with each other. As an English major, there would be no need to have knowledge of music.

Furthermore, students will be uninterested in courses that are outside of their major field of study. Speaking from my own experience, when I was taking courses outside of my major, I was not interested in those courses. If I had exams coming up, I would skip those classes to focus on my major courses. Another reason why it would be harmful for a student to take courses outside of their major courses is that it would be hard to focus. For example, when a person is uninterested in a topic, they tend to zone out and missing important points of the course.

The claim does have some merritt. Taking courses outside a student’s major field of study could diverse their knowledge and can he used in their major courses. For example, taking English courses can help a laboratory course. For example, when I took Exercise Physiology for my major, I had to write multiple lab reports. Since I took English courses my first two years of my undergraduate career, I had a strong foundation in writing and helped me when I wrote these reports.

People argue that universities should require their students to take courses outside of their field of study; however, I disagree with this claim. I believe that taking courses outside of their major would hinder their education because the course do not correlate to their major and the students would be uninterested in those courses.