A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues a program made between the Sherwood Hospital and the Sherwood Animal Shelter will result in the decrease of heart disease in the general population. I disagree with the author’s argument because the author because they assume that pet owners live longer because they own a dog, that the program will push people to adopt a dog, and that heart disease in the general public will decrease when they own a dog.

Firstly, the author provides evidence that pet owners live longer than non pet owners. I disagree with this assumption because the study did not include if any participants had any heart disease. Also, the author uses the study to talk about dogs and the study could have statistics of other pets, not just dogs. The argument would have been stronger if the author included a study that correlated solely on dog owners and the instances of heart diseases.

Secondly, it is argued that if a program was made between the Sherwood Hospital and the Sherwood Animal Shelter it would result in people adopting a dog. This assumption does not take into account the supply and demand of dogs that are currently in the shelter. For example, the number of dogs could be lacking so people would not be able to adopt a dog. On the other hand, the shelter could have a surplus of dogs resulting in the overcapacity of dogs in the shelter. Additionally, people may be allergic to dogs so they would not adopt a dog.

Lastly, the author concludes that owning a dog will result in the decrease of heart disease in the general population. I disagree with this because there are other ways that heart disease can decrease. For example, exercising can aid in the decrease of heart disease. In a study conducted at X University, people were seen to have less heart problems when running for a mile a day (2019). Also, heart disease can be reduced if one fixes their diet. In another study conducted at X University, low fat food was seen to increase the efficiency of the heart (2019).

The author states that a program between the Sherwood Hospital and Sherwood Shelter would cause people to adopt a dog and resulting in the reduction of heart disease in the general public. As it stands now, this argument is flawed. The author could have made their argument stronger if they provided studies that talked about heart disease decreasing due to owning a dog, take into consideration of the supply and demand of dogs and people with heart disease, and addressing how dogs can lead to people exercising more to lower heart disease in the general population.