Some people believe that citizens can most benefit their communities by contributing time and resources to volunteer efforts (e.g., town cleanups, youth sports leagues, food and clothing drives). Others believe that a community is better served when most of its citizens engage in the political process necessary to select the community leaders most likely to establish fair policies and initiate effective programs.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

People believe that citizens can benefit more to their communities by using volunteer efforts, while on the otherhand others believe that citizens more involved in politics would be better. I believe that a community will benefit more from volunteers because they know their communities better compared to political leaders and is least cost effective.

Firstly, having volunteer that are more involved in their communities know the people within them. Acknowledging the needs of the community, instead of raising money for unneccesary resourses, they are more more focused on the wants and needs. For example, if a community is consisted of more working parents, having after school programs will benefit not only them, but also the children enrolled in these programs. In a study conducted by the Psychology Department at San Francisco State University, they found that children go to The Boys and Girls Club of America have higher grades compared to those who do not attend (2019). At the Boys and Girls Club, volunteers offer their time by tutoring, organizing small sport activities, and other extra curricular activities.

On the other hand, communicans are able to benefit from citizens engaged in politics. With the support of politics, programs are able to do more for their communities due to having the funds to back them. For instance, political leaders are able to create and fund programs that can benefit people in the lower economic class. A more specific example would be the free lunch programs for those in the lower class. The funding of these programs would appeal to many; however, trusting the decisions of politicans could be harmful to a communitiy instead of benefitting them.

Although this really helps the people in the lower class, relying on political leaaders could increase the risk of second agendas. Politicans looking for a reelection would be swayed by community leaders who offer more funding to their campaign. Instead of focusing on the needs of a community, politicians would focus on how to have the most funding. Additionally, politicans would create programs that are more benefitial to the higher class. For example, politicans would increase the taxes for the community in order to fund for programs that are not neccessarily needed for them. A specific example would be funding for new housing complexes. Funding in this expense would lead to more noise pollution and an increase in population.

I believe that citizens can benefit their communities better if they focus on the volunteer efforts of their communities. This reasoning is due to the fact that volunteers know what is needed within their communities and would be least cost effective.