Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

It is said that leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them; however, I disagree with this statement. I believe that leaders are not created by the demands that are placed on them because of a person’s personality and the pressure of the demands can be too much for them. For these reasons, leaders do not arise due to the demands that are put on them.

Firstly, personality plays a major role in a leader. For example, people who are introverted have personality traits that are not fit to be a leader, regardless of the demands that are placed on them. Introverted people are soft-spoken and shy, hindering them in their leadership. To be a leader, some level of extroverted personality traits should surface. To be an effective leader, they need to be able to speak out and communicate well with the team they are leading.

Secondly, the demands that are placed on a person can put too much pressure on them. Instead of taking on all the demands, one may crack under pressure and refuse to lead. For example, if the demands are too much, if there are too many demands to discuss, a person would not be able to fulfill each one. As a result, the person would feel unsatisfied and would not want to take up the leadership role in the future.

On the other hand, some people might become leaders due to the demands that are placed on them because they are forced into the position due to people believing they are best to fill the role. This may be true; however, if chosen to be leader, they might not be a strong leader.

People believe that leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them. Although leaders can arise from these conditions, I believe this statement is fault because of personality and the pressures of the demands that need to be met. For these reasons, I believe that certain demands do not create a leader.