The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries argues that installing a software that monitors of employees would result in the increase of productivity and improving overall profits. Although the author provides valid reasonings that supports their position, they fail to address important questions that leaves some uncertainties in their argument. The author should take into account the program having an opposite effect on productivity and profits and should consider other possibilities that employees can do that would decrease productivity.

Firstly, the author should consider the program having an opposite effect on employee productivity and profits. For example, depending on the type of business Climpson Industries is, the use of social media websites is an important factor in its profit. A more specific example is Instagram. Although it is a social media program, it can be used for advertising. If the website is blocked, then profits would decline due to the lack of advertising for Climpson’s products. Also, monitoring employees’ internet use would decrease their productivity instead of improving them. For instance, employees need breaks every once in awhile from their work. If their activities are being monitored, they would feel pressured and lack in their work.

Furthermore, the author should consider other possibilities that employees can do that would decrease productivity. Although employees are being monitored, there are other means that they can use to slack off. For instance, using their phones or personal laptops. If they have their own internet and use hotspot, the monitoring program would not be of use.

The author mentions how workers use the internet at work for personal activities. Although sometimes it can be a distraction, the author fails to consider that these personal activities are important for the company. For instance, emailing between other companies. These emails should not be monitored due to privacy reasons.

Although the author makes valid points in their recommendation, they fail to consider the opposite effects of the installation of internet monitoring programs and the other possibilities of how employees’ productivity are low. As it stands currently, the author’s argument is flawed and insubstantial.