The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that Acme should require their employees to take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course to improve productivity. Although the author’s reasoning are fair, there are additional questions that they should address to make the argument more example. The author should take into consideration the supply and demand of the course and if Acme’s line of work would benefit from this course.

Firstly, the author mentions the price of the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course and how it it is “a small price to pay”; however, is it really? Is the Acme a small or big company? Depending on the answer to that question, the course could actually cost more and resulting in less productivity of the company. For example, if the company has few employees, the cost of the course would result in the company owing more money than earning. This could result in employees’ wages to decrease. Knowing that they are earning less money, employees’ productivity could decrease.

Furthermore, the author discusses two graduates of the Easy Read Speed-Reading course and were successful. However, the author should question what type of field the graduates are working in. For example, the graduate who became the vice president. The graduate could have earned the vice president position due to other reasons, such as, creating ideas that benefited the company or went beyond the expectations of their job description. The employee could be productive without the need of speed reading.

The author also mentions a graduate who can read 500 pages in two hours. This is impressive and supports the author’s argument - if it fits the line of work of Acme. For example, having the ability to read multiple reports in a short amount of time would be productive when trying to find the important points of each report.

The author argues that productivity would increase at Acme if enrolled in the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course. Although the author has some strong supporting evidence, they fail to answer the question of the supply and demand of the course and the line of work that Acme partakes in would benefit with fast readers. As it stands now, the author’s argument is unsubstantial and is heavily flawed.