An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

There is a myth that the scent of lavender flowers is an effective way to cure insomnia. The author agrees with this argument; however, they drew a strong conclusion based on weak evidence. To make their argument stronger, the author should include studies that include different methods that produces the scent of lavender, the type of lifestyle the participants have.

Firstly, the author only talks about one study; even then, the description of the study weakens the author’s conclusion. The study mentions how the participants were on sleep medication and reported feeling tired the first two weeks. The author uses this study to prove that because of the lavender scented pillows, it helped the participants with their insomnia. Due to the fact that they were on sleeping medication, it does not help the author’s argument. Medication is meant to be weaned off little by little, not suddenly cut off. This could be the cause for the participants feeling tired the first two weeks of the study. The author could have made their argument stronger if they used a study that had participants who were not on sleeping medication.

To make their argument stronger, the author could have included studies that included different methods that produced the scent of lavender. For example, candles, incense, humidifier, etc. If the author was able to provide studies that used these methods, it would have made their argument more sound.

Furthermore, the author should have taken into account the lifestyle of the participants in the studies. For example, diet could result in insomnia. When drinking caffeine before bed, it could hinder the sleep pattern of a person. Instead of using lavender scents to them fall asleep, a more simple way to solve this problem is to stop drinking caffeine before sleeping. Another example is working late hours. This could throw off the internal clock of a person.

The author makes a strong conclusion that lavender scents can cure insomnia in a short amount of time. Although the author provides a study to support their view on the issue, they ignored the fact of how the sudden stop of sleep medication could have influenced the study. To make their argument stronger, the author should have included studies that used different producers of lavender scents and took into account the lifestyle of people with insomnia. In its current form, the author’s argument is unsubstantial and flawed.