A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

Some say that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Although there are sound arguments that nations should not require its students to have the same curriculum throughout the nation, I believe a nation should require students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college because students will learn the same skills that prevent anyone from being behind and students will learn the same subjects that are needed at their age. For these reasons, a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Firstly, requiring all students to study the same national curriculum would put students at the same learning level, preventing from anyone from being behind in terms of their learning. Based on a students age correlates with their stage of learning. For example, at a early stage in life, children need to learn the beginning curriculum of math, English, science, etc. Starting with the basic knowledge at the adolescent stage of life will contribute to their learning as students get older and advance to more difficult levels of subjects.

Secondly, students will learn the same subjects needed at their age if taught the same national curriculum. Learning the same curriculum will help students figure out what subjects they like more than others. This can also help with their learning styles in certain subjects. For example, students can explore different study habits without it effecting their grades heavily. Furthermore, figuring out their learning styles can benefit them when they enter college leveled courses.

There are arguments that say that students should study different curriculum based on their nation until they enter college because it allows for students to find subjects that they are interested. Although this can be a good thing, it can also hinder their learning until they enter college. For example, a student will focus more on subjects that appeal to them and cause them to focus less on the other subjects. This can cause a student's grade to be inadequate in some subjects.

Although some arguments support students learning a different curriculum until college, I believe a nation should require students to study the same national curriculum. Students will learn the same skills that would prevent anyone from getting behind and students will learn the same subjects that are needed at their age.