Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the purpose of education frees the mind and spirit or restrain our minds and spirits. Indisputably, education allows us to explore different fields and find what students excel in. Nevertheless, education requires students to take mandatory courses to graduate and to follow what professors want in their course. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that the purpose of education frees the mind and spirit and instead restrains them.

Firstly, throughout a person’s education career, they are required to take mandatory courses in order to graduate. To illustrate, let us look at the example of science courses. For a student majoring in a language, such as German, science courses are not relevant in their major. Instead of focusing on their majors (keep in mind it is what they are interested in) they will have to divide their time to the science courses. With the lack of freedom of what courses they can choose from, the courses they are less interested in would cause them to focus more on them and forget about their major classes.

Furthermore, professors structure their classes differently and have their own opinions on topics. I had an experience similar to this and caused me to think more like my professor instead of forming my own opinion. In the course I was enrolled in, I had to write essays about different controversial topics. If our opinions were opposite from our professor’s, our grades were lower compared to the ones who aligned with the opinion of the professor. In this case, we were restricted in how we had to think.

Admittedly, education does allow students to explore different fields and does free their mind and spirit. This is true especially when it comes to art majors. In these fields, creativity is a major factor in their success in the field. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that education frees the mind and spirit.

In conclusion, although in specific areas of study, education does free the mind and spirit; however, in other cases education does the opposite. As long as some measurements are performed, or some areas are involved, education restricts the mind and spirit.