Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely alig

By giving skewed views to young students, the formal education can be negative, unless they are well designed and monitored. That is, there are potential danger to be misused to manipulate people's minds and spirits. However, If the formal program is properly established, it will have positive effect on students. The apposite formal education equal quality of education and efficiently share the widely accepted value and virtue to younger generation. Moreover, by providing equal education opportunities, it contribute to enhancing individual welfare.

In the case that the educational curriculum is tendencious, Formal education may have negative effect on the younger generation. Because the partial and lopsided teaching contributes to forming the student's disrupted unconsciousness. As the french philosopher Foucault pointed out, the knowledge-power can be used to manipulate people's minds and spirits. Especially, if the formal education program is designed to adulate the current power, the foundation of spirit of democracy would be seriously defected. Because student would have less opportunities to think critical against the government in virtue of deficiency of transparent information. North Korea is one of the most salient example demonstrating this concern can be true.

However, when the education program is properly designed and carefully scrutinized, formal education can play a crux role in increasing the sense of cooperation and combination of the society as whole. In virtue of he formality of the standardized program, all educator can provide the universal and general education to all students over the nation, and these formal character of the program keeps the private opinions which may be erroneous at bay. Moreover, due to the common and shared program, students can learn efficiently the existing virtue and value which are accepted by the precursors. These learning would lessen the gap between generations.

Moreover, the standardized curriculum guarantees the equality of opportunity in education, so that commit to welfare of individuals as well. The well designed formal education is not so much bridling the people's mind and spirit as supporter to buttress freedom of individuals. The equality of opportunity in education is basic background for individuals to success with their own efforts. Unless the equality of education is not warranted, comparatively poorer people will lose their righteous chances to win the competition in the society. Only when the society have equal educational opportunity, everyone can enjoy their freedom in learning.

All in all, even though the formal education can be misused, there are also many positive aspects as well. Therefore, what we need to consider seriously is not whether the formal education is definitely bad or not, but how to control and manage the educational program.