Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Nowadays, there is a common contradictory in the society that the aim for education is either legistimate the mind or limit the spirits. Maybe for different fields, the purposes differ, yet whatever the major is, the freedom of mind is of great significance to some extent.

For some subjects, maybe freedom is seemingly not so essential, or even as a burdon of the repetitive work. Taken the assemble line working in to consideration, when workers are educated to operate a machine, the capacity of innovation or thinking outside the box is unnecessary and redundant. As a result, for most repetitive and regular job, rigorous regulations are setted to constrain the workers' behavior. It is similar in school that some techinical school, the aim for education is to teach and receive without creating new things, which is suitable for the future job.

However, freeing the mind can capititive a sense of creativity, which is essential for the high-level achievement. What if students are taught science and physics with solely termnology and theory, withe the absence of any possible labratory experience? What if the artists are restrained to follow the old styles and punished if creating a subverting party? What if the structure of the society remain forever, lacking the adjustment based on the progress of psychological development? Neither Newton, Claud Monet, Matin Luther King should not be existed if their mind is constrained, nor such huge development of human could promote the progress of human's society.

Furthermore, such freedom of mind is of great importance to every major to some extent. In spite of the regulation and the supervisor in the factory and schools that aimed to manage the behaviors of the workers and the students, such forms are willing to keep the overall environment stable and hold the harmonious atmosphere. By contrast, invention and innovation are stimulated and the manager or the cheif teacher may even set up a reward for that, which is a symbole of freeing the mind.

In conclusion, based on the following statement, though there are some limits and deciplines in education, the encouragement for thinking objectively and candid is deeply rooted into the educators' mind. There might be some mistakes in their implement, however for the benefitsm, the main purpose for the education is to free the mind and the spirit.