Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Education is crucial to our life; it enlightens our path, broadens our horizon of understanding. Education has become indispensable part of our lives. However, education has also made our life irksome; people seem stressed during acquiring education and after its completion as well. Despite there are bunch of people who believe education is to free the mind and the spirit, I completely agree with other group of people believing education tends to restrain our mind and spirits.

Our system of education necessitates the children to acquire year-long formal education. Not only will the children need to get admitted to school right from the early childhood, but they will also compelled to take participate in competition. The way of education has been like more of a sprint; more you mug up, better your scores are going to be. This very stupid sense of competition has always put unbearable pressure in our child’s mind. This has not barred their minds from thinking out-of-box.

Furthermore, after getting formal education, we take up a job. After this, our life becomes so mundane that we always get to do same things. Our mind is always occupied by the burdens of duties and responsibilities. For example, after getting 16 years of education, a man joins a company. Having this 16 years of stressful life, he is again going to handle the same burdensome whole-life. He never gets free time on his own.

Many people might argue that education leads us to the path of enlightment; it illuminates the meaning of life to us. Wise person (like Baba Ramdev, Sadhguru) who is currently pursuing a very happy and peaceful life which would not have been achieved, if they had not obtained formal education. But weighing pros and cons of our current system of formal education, it has been found this education system has compelled us to have narrow outlook and incarcerated in a confined areas, where only stress and burden prevalents.

In conclusion, of course, education is something that is undeniable; however, it has fettered our mind from imaginative deliberation. Formal education tends to stop us from out-of-box thoughts. If the current system of imparting education is changed, it could be made a tool to set free the mind and spirit.