Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country.

Customers tend to enjoy variegated tastes while having Pancake. Some might love butter pancake, whereas some go for other tastes. Although the customers in southern United States loved the taste of margarine as well or did not find any difference in the taste, perhaps the customers in other parts of country might not prefer margarine. The given premises are valid, however, it seems incomplete and need further even more deliberate survey to come to a more tenable, valid and reliable conclusion. The argument is rife with holes and fallacious assumptions.

Citing the survey, the author implies that only 2% are filing complaint regarding the replacement of butter with margarine. However, It is not clear the validity and scope of survey. We do know nothing about the sample size. Perhaps the sample size could be very small, not representing the population properly. Even from the small sample size, perhaps the majority of sample collected could not distinguish the taste of butter from margarine.

Furthermore, the author needs to look at other substitutes apart from margarine. Perhaps, the customers like other tastes over margarine and butter. That way also, the restaurant could save money by serving less expensive substitutes of their preferences.

The author, in this argument, assumes that people of other parts of USA will be going to like the margarine pancake to the same extent as is liked by the southwestern USA. Along with this assumption is the presumption that people of other parts of USA will also not be able to distinguish the taste of butter from margarine. It is to be noted that, without any doubt, the author should not make a generalized assumption to duplicate the same result as obtained in a specific location. For example, in Nepal, people living in Tarai region likes the taste of cinnamon; whereas, people living in Hilli region does not like it at all. So, if we do the business of cinnamon flavored food business in Hilli region based upon its success in Tarai region, the business will turn out to be utterly debacle.