Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

A number of factors are there in order to evaluate the character of a society; character of people is one of them. Although the role models of our community represents face of our society to some extent, but basing a society character solely on the characters of few elites will not be justifiable. I completely disagree with the assertion that examining the character of men and women, chosen as heroes or role models, is the best way to apprehend the character of a society. There are numerous examples to justify my take on this statement but few are the life-styles of heroes, cricketers, and politicians.

In South India, Rajnikant, a veteran Bollywood actor, is celebrated as an incarnation of god. If we look at the life of Rajnikant, he boasts a very extravagant lifestyle- possessing lavish house, car- and his decorous character is so sublime as though he seems to belong from very wealthy, and well educated society. But in fact, he belongs from a impoverish society where getting even fundamental needs for living is very difficult.

Similarly, we can take the life of Lal Babu Raut( a politician from Nepal). He is well educated, decorated with very propriety characters. Having tremendously successful business venture, he is one of the richest persons in Nepal. If the society he belongs to is judged based upon his character and demeanor, it will be misleading. On the other hand, the society-where Lal Babu Raut lives in, is under-privileged. They have no access to drinkable water, shelter.

Without a doubt, it is true that our heroes and role models are ornaments of our community, therefore, they should be made capable enough to afford for every needs. Even, government should consider them special, guarantying their better living. However, a society is not what those people look like. Even the seemingly beautiful things have scars and bruises in closer view. Undoubtedly, a society is evaluated upon deliberate scrutiny of the traits and typical characteristics that the majority of people bears.

In summary, of course, there are people in the society, who are regarded as the role models, somehow are the face of the society; however the characters they possess can’t be the best indicator in order to depict society. Majority of general public is there to reflect the real face of society.