Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Scientific innovations have led to this current technologically advanced modern world where there is nothing impossible. Although scientific research and developments are crucial for betterment of mankind and all the beings, they are not always conducted with sheer motive of good cause. I completely agree with the above statement that government should prohibit some researches done with a wrong intention. For example, researches on nuclear weapons, human cloning, bio-weapons need to be deterred.

Scientists conduct research to give to the world a beautiful innovation, which can ease human life. However, there may be persons with evil motive to misuse those innovations. For example, research regarding nuclear energy is to be conducted for the development of alternative source of energy; but some might use this as weapons to destruct the world like nuclear attack on Hiroshima and Nagasaki of Japan. The attack caused havoc, causing serious effect on health of all living beings for many generations.

In addition to this, research on human cloning should also be restricted. People might use it otherwise. For example, what if humans are made in laboratory and then start smuggling them for purposes like body parts, prostitution, slavery. Many people argue: not only human cloning is against the nature, but it will also be used wrongly.

Some people might argue that researches on nuclear weapon, bio-weapons are to be carried out with full government funding rather than clamping restrictions on them, as these are the tools for self-defense. They protect any nations from invading other intruders and keep them at bay. But weapons are not a solution to the threats of interlopers. Violence is not a solution; forging consensus among people only leads to the genuine resolving of problems. In summary, of course, scientific researches and innovations are of utmost importance for the advancement of today’s world; however, all researches should not be encouraged by the government. Government should vigorously disallow the researches that can be of potential threat to the world later.