Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Whether or not they would like to accept it, the governments do play a significant role in the progress and development of scientific research in any sovereign state. It is hence imperative that they carefully draft and implement the rules and regulations such that neither scientific progress is impeded, nor is it given a free hand which might lead to severe ethical and moral violations. In my opinion, the governing body of the state must enforce restrictions wherever necessary, be it the scientific community or even the market.

Scientific progress in no doubt a metric that adds bonus points to the meritocracy of a nation. However, we at no point should support any leaps in research that comes at the cost of inhumanity. We should acknowledge at least one species has been taken for granted much of the development in biology over the past century. We have even coined the expression "lab rat" as a label for the species of mice. Why were mice the chosen ones? They were ready available and existed in large populations.

We should understand that the scientific institutions will become an independent entity as soon as no restrictions will be imposed on them. Drugs and many other hazardous substances could easily be transferred / ordered in 'the name of science and research'. There are few examples from human history that provide an optimistic narrative in the absence of any laws or rules.

It may be argued that dependency on the government regulations might slow down the scientific progress by a factor. However, one can only imagine the ramifications if say human based trials were implemented in masses. A risk of plague, a virus outbreak, the probability of disaster is very high here, and this is just talking about biology.

All in all, the laws and restrictions pertaining to scientific research and development b governments are a complex issue and the answer is not.