Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

We are currently living in the twenty first century wherein there is a technological bloom, many countries have started preparing for their manned mission to mars, significant advances accomplished in various fields such as medicine, biology, etc. In this context, the prompt recommends that governments should not manacle scientific research and development, rather leave them unfettered. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the side which recommends lesser restraints on scientific development and research.

To begin, any research or developmental process requires time to produce any significant results. The computer was not found in one day nor was the theory of relativity by Einstein. Moreover, one of the major drawbacks of scientific research is that you can’t be sure if a particular research will actually produce any significant results. There are many research projects that have resulted in a failure either because the research group did not get the intended results or the research group received results which faired poorly compared to the existing ones. On top of these if there are any restrictions added on research, the researchers will have an extra burden to carry. For example, there was a Phd student in my college who had a deadline by which he had to submit his research findings to the government board. Given that the deadline was very near and if he didn’t submit it this time then he will have to wait for another year, so he hurriedly finished with his work and submitted what he could. Of course his work got rejected. So to reiterate adding restrictions on top of existing problems for researchers will lead to excess burden on them and therefore could impair the progress severely.

Secondly, adding any research based on time will definitely not lead to any development or any new research findings. I say so because in research and development, no one can be sure if what they are working on will be completed by the given deadline. Moreover, in scientific research or development the path is always not clear, to rephrase at any point in time new problems can spring up and it becomes necessary to solve them. For example, consider India’s space mission to Moon, they had a deadline by which they had to finish with the space shuttle but due to many technical glitches they had to postpone the date of the mission itself. Just so they couldn’t finish within the deadline doesn’t mean the mission didn’t happen, it was postponed because of technical issues which if not corrected would have resulted in huge losses according to the missions plans. Thus, a restriction based on time will not work when it comes to research and development.

However, I believe that the current restrictions that are imposed based on funding should not be discontinued. I believe so because it helps to keep a check on scientific progress made. When the research is funded by someone, the researches will have to show how they spent that money. Moreover, when they run out of funds they’ll have to apply for grants again which will require them to show progress as well. I believe this to be necessary because it will help scientists and developers to streamline their progress rather than deviating to other ones. To rephrase, when these funds are given they are given based on a research proposal, so when you start working you are required to show wether your research ended in a success or it ended in a failure but what you can’t do is provide results for another research problem started in the middle of the fund’s tenure. Thus enforcing restrictions based on money is in a way helpful to scientists, to keep them focused on one problem at a time.

In conclusion the problem on enforcing governmental restrictions on research and development is a complex one and I mostly agree with the claim that the restrictions should be few, if any.