The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Every democratic society is deeply rooted in the ideal of “authority is made by the people for the people”. The prompt above recommends that a society’s well being can be improved when a lot of its own people question the authority. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement and argue that most of the times it leads to an overall improvement in the well-being of the society, but not always.

To begin, questioning the authority will actually help the authority in making wise decisions beneficial for the society and it’ll also bring light to the issues that are currently affecting the society. For instance, consider a democratic country say India, the ruling party or the authority as well as the opposition which question them are voted in by the people. Before passing any law there is always a debate on the parliament floor between the ruling party and the opposition with the topic of the debate being is the law going to be beneficial for the society. There are many instances in which the opposition have come up with some valid counterpoints, consequently the ruling party have also changed the laws accordingly. Moreover, every news channel in a society acts as a medium by which the government can be questioned. This benefits the society because news channels are a widely watched medium, the more people get to know about the issues, the more they are going to support it and thus if a government doesn’t take action regarding these issues all these supporters hold rallies, protests until the issue is resolved. A great example for this would be the new law that was passed in India against rape offenders, it was because of news channels these rape cases was brought to the nation and as many people started supporting it by rallying, holding protests etc, the government was made to take an action and as a result India now has a law for these cases. Sometimes the authority are deeply focused on a particular problem that they tend to either not acknowledge or worse forget about the other problems that is affecting the society in the present. So when there are many people questioning about the authorities blind eyes to these issues, it helps the authorities to make an informed decision for the well being of all in a society.

However, it is not always true that questioning the authority will lead to overall improvement in the well being of the society, sometimes it can lead to either no improvement or worse, punishment. For instance, in India the electric lines are being built by the government themselves. Usually, these electric lines will involve erecting a number of towers. So when some of these pass through someones land, the government has the right to take the land for its own purposes, but mostly if not all the times, the people in that society complain and question the authority. The government however doesn’t bother answering these questions because ultimately they are building these electric lines for the overall well-being of the society. So, in this case the questioning of the authority didn’t lead to any improvement of the society whose land was taken. An example where questioning can lead to punishment would be that of colonial rule by the British. The British would take resources from its colonial empire and those who questioned it would get severely punished. Another instance would be that of the time when slavery was allowed. When the slaves question the authority, it usually resulted in punishment. Thus, questioning the authority doesn’t always lead to improvement in the well-being of the society.

In conclusion this recommendation to question the authority for the improving the well-being of the society is a complicated one. It mostly applies when the questioning will lead to improvement of not just one but many societies, otherwise it doesn’t hold water. In a society that is democratic the worst case scenario would be that of a no improvement in the well being whereas in a society that is based on dictatorship it could also lead to severe punishment. Thus, the recommendation mostly applies but not always.