The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

“A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the article suggested that for a business to prosper, hiring people who require less than six hours of sleep is necessary. The author has reached this conclusion based on the results of a recent study which suggest that companies whose executives reported that they didn’t require more than six hours of sleep had higher profit margins and faster growth. However, the author is supporting his/her argument with three assumptions that, if not substantiated, severely weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the author prematurely assumes that people who participated in the survey answered candidly. However, this is not be the case. It is possible that the executives who took part in the survey actually lied in order to not look bad compared to others. It is also possible that the executives who took part in the survey were under duress. If any of the above holds merit, the conclusion by the author doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes unwarrantedly that the recent study was fairly conducted. However, this need not be the case. It is possible that the sample of executives who participated in the survey was a skewed sample of the total population. It is also possible that the study was heavily influenced by some companies. If any of these scenarios hold water, the conclusion by the author is severely weakened.

Finally, the author assumes there is a negative correlation between the firms success and the hours of sleep required by its employees. However, this need not be true. It is possible that a firm is succeeding because its products are now being favored by the consumers compared to others. It is also possible that the firms success is because of that individual firms recent partnership with other big firms. If any of these turns out to be true, the authors conclusion is severely weakened.

In conclusion, the suggestion that for a business to prosper, hire people who require less than six hours of sleep, as it stands now is severely flawed. If the author provides more evidence in order to address these assumptions, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the suggestion made by the author.