The council of Maple County, concerned about the county’s becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

According to the argument, the Maple county council has reached a conclusion that the measure that would prevent development of the farmland in the county , if applied, will lead to a significant increase in housing prices. The council has reached this conclusion based on the effects on the prices of houses in Pine county after a measure that restricts development of new residential housing was enforced fifteen years ago. However, the council must provide answers to three questions before the argument and the prediction can be evaluated.

Firstly, Is there a demand for housing in Maple county all the time? The council prematurely assumes that there will always be families that are looking for new houses in Maple County. It is possible that Maple county is situated at a rural place with poor connectivity to the city. It is also possible that there are more houses than there are families in Maple county. If any of the above is true, then there will be no demand for housing in Maple county, thus severely weakening the councils prediction.

Secondly, Are Pine County and Maple County roughly comparable? The council assumes unwarrantedly that the physical conditions and the demography in Maple county and Pine county are similar. The proponents also assume prematurely that the price increase in Pine County is a direct consequence of the restriction enforced on the County. It is possible that Pine County is an area for the affluent whereas Maple county is not. Further, it is also possible that Pine county is at the near vicinity of a big company like Apple or Microsoft which could have influenced the housing prices in the County. If any of the above scenarios is true, then the councils prediction will not hold water.

Finally, Even if Pine County and Maple county are comparable, Is it true that the only way to limit the new housing is by enforcing a restriction on the farmland? It is possible that the developers who are trying to build new houses could use wasteland in the County to build new housing. Further, it is also possible that these developers renovate existing houses to include more houses. If any of the above cases holds merit, the prediction of the council is severely weakened.

In conclusion, the argument and the prediction as it stands now does not hold water due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the council provides answers to three questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the prediction that enforcing restrictions preventing the development of farmlands in Maple County will lead to increase in housing prices in the County.