Essay topic 21: Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Society is made up of human community, cultural heritage, social conventions and norms, language, religion and other aspects that would collectively assist to understand the identity and values of a society. To understand a society, some people advocate that reference to heroes or role models would be helpful since citizens are inclined to attach the highest ideas to their heroes which indicate their culture and ideals as sources of inspiration or models to be replicated by next generations. However, heroes or role models may not be comprehensive paragons and people reflect their bias in their judgment; therefore, one must go beyond society’s heroes and role models’ features to understand the characteristics of that society. Probing ordinary people’ characteristics generally could be a good reference to understand a community.

To begin with, choosing random cases of heroes and role models would not reveal the real characteristics of a society since heroes and role models do not encompass all aspects of an ideal character. They typically reflect one outstanding characteristic. To illustrate this, let us consider the example of athletes like Rolando and Piquet that are well reputed for their athletic dexterities throughout not only their own country but also the world. These people are solely recognized as role models for being champions in international contests not for other features of the society such as art, tradition, lifestyles, etc. A similar example is the case of religious figures in a society that are considered as inviolable by majority of people while some people may have bias perspectives about the official religion of a society like Iranians who praise Islam harbingers and followers as ideals and role models.

Moreover, heroes may be polished by the authority to serve some political and ideological purposes which demonstrates a false image of the society. For instance, some philanthropists and celebrities as ideals of a community may join campaigns of corrupt politicians during the parliament elections to get citizens’ attention to disguise them as acceptable candidates to vote. Thus, such heroes could not help understand a society as most people do not approve such characteristics.

In conclusion, studying characteristics of ideals or heroes of a society would not provide a comprehensive perspective of the character of that society as they might have been chosen biasly by considering one feature such as championship, trophies, etc. Hence, all aspects of a society including religion, culture, lifestyles, etc must be scrutinized to gain a profound understanding of a society.