Essay topic 10: Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is a powerful mean which makes economical and social changes in the world. Therefore, a proper education system should be implemented. As affording tuition fees of universities has always been one of the challenges of students and their supporters, some people believe that government should consider the policy of tuition waver for the students who are admitted to universities but are unable to pay the tuition. I generally concur with this policy which rises a heated debate on both its merits and demerits.

The first benefit of this policy is providing an equal condition for all students including low income students. Many students depend on their parents for financial supports. Low income families encounter monetary problems to have their children participate in universities; therefore, students have to either leave their studies or burden immense debut for years after graduation. This policy also deprives poor talented students of pursuing higher education. Free education will help such students to continue their education which not only increases education level and knowledge of the society but also provides the low income graduate students with opportunities to find a better job positions changing their life for better in the future. For instance, Germany provides free academic education to all students; thus, students of lower socioeconomic states will have a better chance in achieving their educational goals.

Furthermore, allowing underprivileged students to access academic education eliminates the mono culture universities. Free education helps students from diverse cultures and countries attend the universities to create an environment replete with new ideas and perspectives and it avoids students experiencing marginalization of minorities and lower socioeconomic. As a result, they would be exposed to the real world by juxtaposing various classes of society with various lifestyles.

In contrast, some argue that free education may financially put extra burden on government to make the balance of budget and tax to maintain the universities and relevant affiliates as well as services such as students’ insurance, food and accommodation. Thus, tuition fee could cover such expenses. Besides, students from low income families can be financially supported by universities’ funds and scholarships if they can meet the universities’ requirements like high rank universities in the USA which have created a competitive scholarly environment in which majority of assiduous and talented students try hard to gain financial aids.

In conclusions, the government should provide free university education so that students from low income families can participate in colleges. Nevertheless, affording all the university expenses’ puts a high financial pressure on the government.