Essay topic 1: To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human being’s inclination to create his own world led to construct society and gradually expand to cities with their specific history, life styles, cultures, traditions and regulations. Therefore, I agree that one must look into the major cities to comprehend the features of that particular society.

First of all, major cities have historical sites and monuments which reveal history of that community. For instance, tourists visiting Iran commonly go to Persoplis in Shiraz. The remains of this ancient city will assist them to get acquainted with Persian civilization, tradition, lifestyle, and Akhamenid dynasty which are obviously observed in the inscriptions, reliefs, palaces and the architecture of the city. As a result, without visiting such a major city like Shiraz, it would be difficult to grasp the image and the characteristics of Persian society.

Secondly, the markets in major cities indicate the trends of that society. Although most major cities are cosmopolitan and globalization has made them anomalous, residents’ eating habits and dress codes are different. In European societies, people highly consume fast food whereas East Asians usually eat rice as their main dish. In addition, formal clothing is a demand for work and some occasions in major cities; yet, the dress code of indigenous people deserves investigation. Traditional costumes demonstrate the local cultures of communities. To exemplify this, let us consider Kurdish and Turkish people in Iran that often wear their traditional customs in events like wedding, funeral, and family gathering to signify their unity and culture.

However, one may argue that characterizations of a society can be found out by studying the small societies but in the rural or suburban areas it is difficult to explore the tacit habits of locals as there are few people in such areas than major societies. Hence, it would be better to realize a society in major cities with high number of population.

In conclusion, one has to explore important aspects of major cities to fully know their characteristics and implicit regulations rather than small communities.