Essay topic 32: In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Everyone has different perspectives for any particular cases. Humankind often encounters some difficulties in a specific issue, as they may have not recognized the other sides of issues. Therefore, it is viable to take other views towards those subjects as this enables individuals to mull over advantages and disadvantages which consequently lead to progress and success.

To begin with, there are many social reforms that just started with unity of a few people at first to express their contradictory opinions about political issues, traditions and customs. For instance, women witnessed the abolition of some social conventions which resulted in objecting to staying home and leading to breaking this norm and providing job opportunities for women to demonstrate their capabilities and become successful professional that is considered a great progress. Galileo’s claim against church teachings that the earth orbits around the sun is another example of this case. If many scientists had not declined his claim, we wouldn’t have had improvement in various areas of physics; thus, such opposing views led to progress.

In addition, emphasis on group discussions would help find out merits and demerits of issues which would pave the way to improve. For instance, a business entity needs to promote their products by picking up some marketing and advertising strategies. However, such strategies are criticized by some. Therefore, opposing point of views takes all positive and negative aspects into consideration which ultimately aims to progress in that business. Passing laws in a country is also another good example of importance of debating on issues to get improved. Before a law is going to be passed in the legislator, it is put under tremendous debate between the ruling party and opposite party to look carefully into the law considering both advantages and disadvantages of the issue before making social decisions.

However, it is argued that discussions with some rigid people would have no fruitful outcome. It might happen that one side is probing the issue wisely whereas the other side may have either bias based judgment or power. At last, such discussions result in a dangerous dead lock situation. For instance, approximately ten years ago people opposed to the government for not revealing the accurate number of votes in Iran. These discussions and situations should be headed under the control of a moderator/ arbiter to control the uproar and conflict.

To conclude, even though there are some side effects of contradictory views like bias, people must scrutinize both sides of issues and study the opposing ideas to find out their weaknesses and strengths to progress. Thus, the advantages of considering the contradictory views to improve outweigh the disadvantages far in number and pave the way for progress.