Essay topic 31: As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowledge inspires and motivates people to progress. It removes the boundaries and broadens individuals’ horizons. While this assertion contends that more knowledge will perplex people and cause complexity and difficulty of comprehension, I believe that as we acquire more knowledge with various degrees of sophistication, our ability of comprehension grows and we gradually understand the issues and surroundings simply.

Firstly, vast amount of information and knowledge are accessible for individuals today that induce people to stand in higher level of awareness to recognize the world. Since more options are available, tackling the issues in the past and present are simpler. For instance, people used to have low life expectancy due to exposing to various diseases with no treatments while people today live longer with the improvement of technology and medical science. Traveling long distances in a short time by inventing and developing planes, trains and cars is a good example of this . Thus, gaining knowledge keeps making things more simplified than complex.

Additionally, the feeling of complexity varies in accordance with individuals’ ability in comprehending relevant information and logical analysis of information. One may find a large amount of knowledge extremely sophisticated to comprehend. For example, knowledge of nuclear power and physics theories will be difficult to understand for ordinary people while experts are able to scrutinize the issue and identify technical problems and solutions. Our brain gradually gets used to such circumstances as we acquire more and more relevant knowledge. In case of computer technology, when computer was first invented, majority of people found it complex and difficult to use. Only professionals could operate and use it. Today’s computers are much more sophisticated and high tech than the previous ones but large number of ordinary people is able to use and fix it in some cases.

Admittedly, we may encounter some irrelevant information during acquiring knowledge that not only confuses but also distracts us that we encounter some questions in the process of learning. Therefore, such questions of unknown and unclear information cause feeling of complexity and mysteriousness. However, scientists and professionals know that we deeply ponder and investigate the issues previously thought to be complex and impossible to manage so that they eventually become easy to understand.

In conclusion, as we are obtaining knowledge, we are forming a profound comprehension understanding of the things in the world. Nevertheless, we find it difficult as more unsolved and unexplored problems emerge that would ultimately be simple by expanding the relevant knowledge.