Essay Topic 15: Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is the fundamental requirement of a community to develop. It provides opportunities to open people’s mind to achieve their goals and empower them to scrutinize and propose solutions to problems. Therefore, formal education is designed to free the mind and spirit constructively. However, some argue that it restricts our minds and inhibits thinking freely.

First of all, formal education is designed by the government and the associated academics to unite/coalesce the members of the society into one body functioning properly. If education is left free on people to decide, it may lead to instability within the society which is counterproductive. The formal education aims to extend people’s understanding of life and environment to make careful choices and scientific researches. For instance, helping them to contemplate openly and tackle problems. Formal education in engineering majors in Iran; for instance, encompasses English and management courses which would expand engineering students’ perspectives about the demands of the organizations and feasible solutions in crisis of their career in the future.

Moreover, education assists people to make a collectively similar attitudes and understanding of the environment. As a result, the main purpose of education system lies in making people realize each others’ contribution to the society and have open minds toward learning. Besides, most formal education curriculum requires engagement in a number of “free choice” courses. Such flexibility in educational system assures students to broaden their knowledge and learn their favorite skills and sciences.

However, some may argue that formal education embodies examinations, homework, etc. in which students are taught to get good scores and this way inhibits the real learning process and their minds to think freely. Students accept the one’s hypothesis rather than questioning them to achieve good scores. Formal education also discourages students to take risks in their life and take different paths. For instance, Bill Gates, we known for the Microsoft products, dropped out of school to follow his own interest. If he had not taken risk of leaving university, he could not have been successful as he is today. Also, Elbert Einstein and Thomas Edison were dropped out of school for their poor performance at schools while they could accomplish great successes later and we today know them as the revolutionary scientists.

In conclusion, formal education provides opportunities for students to learn various majors and realize their environment better so as to broaden their knowledge and perspective. While others may think formal education discourage students from thinking freely and creatively by instilling them to accept the determined educational students to fulfill their goals.