Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement linking formal education negatively with mind shaping plays on recent educational experience over the past century. Historically, the educational framework is dated back to 12th century. Through generations, formal schooling has been developing the talents who invented outstanding solutions for complex problems. In the years of taking Master’s degree in MIT, Ivan Getting revolutionized the world with GPS technology. Consider DeepMind, UK-based company that mainly focuses on artificial intelligence innovations, was established by scientists who had recently completed their PhDs in UCL in London.

The statement states that formal schooling shapes the mind and preclude one’s creativity. A quick reflection on a typical education path informs how formal education is outdated. To be enrolled at a university, applicants are required to take entrance exams and the likeliness of doing well relies heavily upon familiarity with the exam format. Throughout undergraduate education, requirement to write scientific abstract following a special format demarcates human imagination. To that end, students learn from the hardest that they could be castigated for not following certain rules.

However, formal approach to education does not necessarily preclude the human imagination. The prior example reveals that great innovations were created at universities. Universities create unique environment for pundits who coalesce on research topics allowing for unprecedented exchange of ideas. With increased intercultural interactions, inspiration can arrive from the most surprising corners. Jeniffer Wild, one of the founders of nicotine patches, was sitting in the classroom when the idea just popped in her head. What’s more, formal schooling frees access to funding and grants to conduct research undertaken by PhD students. For example, the ameliorating effect of radioisotopes on cancer was first noted at Moscow State University by two russian pundits while working on the research, funded by European Commision.

In contrast to the statement, we can see how modern approaches to education free the human imagination. Consider how the digital revolution and the advent of the online education dramatically turned it on its head. Higher School of Economics, the leading university in Russia, adopted new teaching methods foreseeing the importance of open-mindedness for students’ future. With copious interdisciplinary subjects and practice-based groupwork, teachers attempt to free thinking and develop imagination. Last, but not least, the new grading scale for essay writing was embraced - it tends to focus on the critical thinking, rather than on minor format faults.

Formal education will always mark the human education path. Given the traditional methods of teaching, it will take not years, but decades to the whole system to change so profoundly. Inarguably in certain areas educational framework sets boundaries for one’s creativity, but generally leading universities encourage critical thinking.