As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today’s fast-paced world, knowledge is a prerequisite, even for a layperson, to participate in the most trivial activities. Right from our childhood to our adolescent years merging into adulthood, we learn the nuances of day-to-day living and acquire knowledge, even about the most simplest of things. Over time, our acts become banal and our mastery of basic actions allows us to perform tasks without focusing too much on the action at hand. However, as times are progressing, there is a surging trend, even a necessity to have specialized knowledge in a topic we choose as our “domain” or “career path.” Throughout history, people have chosen to specialize and focus on a particular subject, be it Chemistry, the study of the human body or the study of planets. Considering the given prompt, it is logical to say that knowledge is essential to understand any topic, and the more one acquires of it, the more someone will understand the nitty-gritty of the subject. This directly means that acquiring knowledge may help one to not only become sufficiently abled in the field, rather, it is deviating to say that an abundance of knowledge will cause the subject to become complex or mysterious for two reasons.

Even though the term “knowledge” itself is subjective, and mastery of a subject may differ at its most fundamental levels, one can say that any amount of acquired knowledge, even the most basic forms, can instantly be put to use. For instance, consider the study of languages and the benefits of learning multiple languages. Research has shown that people who are bilingual perform better in society, and tend to lead more satisfied lives. When one starts studying a language, constant exposure to that particular language leads to overall mastery of it. If a student who has never taken German courses in the duration of her lifetime decides to do so, and begins to learn the study from its most basic forms to advanced usage of the language, it is evident that the student will acquire at least formal mastery of the language, if not a complete proficiency. Rather, the more detailed knowledge the student acquires of the German language, through various means and forms - the more she will develop her writing, reading or speaking abilities in German. It would, therefore, be incorrect to say that specialized knowledge in a language would cause the student to believe that things are becoming more complex and mysterious. Studies have also shown that people who spend more than the median number of hours acquiring specialized knowledge in a field enables them to perform better in the field than their counterparts, thereby, directly correlating to the above example of a student studying German who decides to dive deep into the subject and acquire knowledge of German at an advanced level.

To continue further, consider the example of the team of computer programmers and software developers who wrote multiple algorithms and code so as to allow mankind’s first mission to the Moon to take place. Having relevant software development experience requires specialized knowledge that involves a deep study of the topic at hand. Knowledge can only be acquired by the constant study of the domain one works in, not only by deriving surface-level details, but by choosing to master advanced concepts, theories and details, sometimes, even concepts that are incomprehensible and pursued by only a few. The team of engineers involved in the mission to the moon were not only expected to have detailed knowledge, but were required to do so because of the tasks they had to handle. Having said that, it is conspicuous that the more specialized knowledge one decides to obtain, the more challenges will be thrown at that person. This may occur for several reasons, the most common being the difficulty of advanced-level topics, the lack of research on these topics or the mental barriers people with different levels of aptitude may face when dealing with a topic. It is possible that sometimes, advanced-level topics may seem obscure, or even difficult to understand, at best, it is possible that the more one relentlessly pursues specialized knowledge related to these topics, the more pathways open up and the “topic” tends to become clearer. This is evident from multiple cases in the prosperity of the human race, especially in the field of science and medicine. Researchers and medical practitioners who found the cure to some deadly diseases, such as smallpox, or even common ones like fever required a knowledge so fundamentally “deep” which could only come after a lot of detailed analysis, study and iteration of materials which took place over a period of time. Thus, even though each domain has its own set of difficulties, or obscurities, the more one tends to deal with the subject matter by effectively studying, practicing and learning about it, things tend to become clearer and solutions tend to emerge.

In conclusion, it can be said that detailed knowledge of a subject may lead one to face some complexities, the more one pursues specialized knowledge - the more clearer things become over time. Hence, as we acquire more knowledge, things not only become more comprehensible, but may lead us to develop solutions that may put forth a completely new line of thought, which will only happen with detailed study