Essay topic 17: Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Governments serve people and they are responsible for the well being of the public and tackling the current problems of the society and the expected of the future. Therefore, governments should prioritize the type of problems to focus on immediate issues and the future problems respectively to increase their effectiveness.

First of all, immediate problems such as natural disasters, pollution and unemployment must be tackled by the government promptly. For instance, if an earthquake occurs, the government must provide food supplies, emergency relief and medical resources and immediately. Current pollution in major cities like Tehran is one of the immediate problems which should be addressed by the government as smog is threatening the health of citizens. Thus, the government had better ponder over the efficient solutions to reduce the air population. Unemployment is another example of the existing perilous issues of developing countries such as Iran that must be dealt with as it is directly related to the country’s economical condition and stability of people’s life as well as the crime rate of the society. In the above mentioned circumstances, prioritizing the issues is obviously the correct choice.

However, some may argue that it would be ignorant and short sighted to overlook the future problems as it may be too late to remove them. Some issues such as global warming and lack of water must be scrutinized by the governments to prevent fundamental catastrophes in the future. Consider the case of climate change in the future. Scientists have predicted that environmental changes will lead to occurrence of detrimental natural disasters including flood, drought and storm in the future. As a result, governments must consciously invest in unraveling/resolving these issues today to avoid the possibility of huge future calamities.

To conclude, governments should bear the responsibility of tackling the immediate problems while studying the possible future problems to avoid any irreparable disasters accordingly.