Essay topic 18: Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Educational institutions serve to prepare students academically and professionally. When it comes to choose a field of study, people’s perspectives are typically debatable. Some contend that undergraduate students should choose their field of study primarily in consistent with their interests and talents while others argue that students should study at colleges to pursue good job opportunities with reliable income. Since obtaining reliable income in the future is an important goal of studying, students should prioritize to choose majors with guaranteed available job opportunities.

First, career opportunity is essential for better lining and personal goals. In the era of globalization, some fields of study such as software engineering and programming are increasingly popular than others. Students are more likely to fulfill their ambition in these fields as they would have access to more advance technology which could be available in a wide range of occupations in the future. Furthermore, colleges have plethora of courses that students can study as means of attaining sufficient knowledge about job market. However, they tend to study majors which are popular among either their peers or parents. Such lack of awareness in determining their field of study would lead to failure after graduation in terms of job opportunities later and income accordingly. Therefore, it is recommended to study majors which are popular in terms of job market due to an ease to land on good job opportunities.

However, it is argued that students’ talents and interests should be taken into consideration while choosing a field of study. Unlike primary schools and high schools where students are mandated to take some courses, they are above to focus on various fields of study in colleges. This would give students an opportunity to pursue their dreams and goals, preferably their favorite majors. If someone is interested in a field or good at it, he would be more likely avid to gain knowledge and learn faster. Thus, they would be able to combine personal interests and careers and become more successful in their future careers.

In conclusion, choosing an applicable field of study in accordance with job market can provide graduate college students with fruitful job opportunities and income. Nevertheless, studying coursers in line with their interest and talents may lead to success academically and professionally.