Essay topic 4: Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Cultural traditions can be reckoned as a hallmark of a country and international face left in the memories of other countries’ people. The cultural traditions of a nation are primarily placed in countryside; therefore, government should ensure consistent financial aids for preservation and development of cultural traditions in rural areas. Major cities should be aided financially because of their governmental function rather than protecting a nation’s cultural traditions.

Firstly, cultural traditions are kept in the countryside rather than major cities. Economic progress has decolored indigenous traits of major cities. Consequently, culture traditions are replaced by cosmopolitan metropolises. Major cities like New York, Tokyo, and Tehran already have sufficient sources of income from businesses, factories, and highly developed infrastructures which can manage the city without external financial aids from the governments.

In the contrary, rural areas are still agrarian and depend on traditional sources of income such as farming and handicrafts which are considered as part of nation’s heritage. Therefore, government should preserve such cultural traditions by furnishing them financial aids including endorsement and publicity of their life styles and projecting tourism.

Besides, being neglected by the government, habitants of rural areas change their traditional business. Should the government provide financial help to traditional businesses of the residents of rural areas will preserve their traditional business. Otherwise, such national treasures will be expunged due to lack of funding and support.

It may also be argued that some old cities like London, Paris and Rome have historical building with magnificent traditional architecture, museums, emperor castles and cuisines but they constitute small portions in all traditional culture of a nation. The government may financially help major cities to maintain infrastructures such as museums, galleries, government offices and constructions like the White House and traditional churches.

In conclusion, a nation’s cultural traditions like lifestyle and handicrafts are originated in rural areas. Thus, it is incumbent that government should preserve the cultural heritage and traditions of a nation by financial support and assist major cities to improve their infrastructure needs.