Essay topic 7: In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Past achievements make remarkable contributions in any fields of science and technology and they guide and motivate most people to reach further achievements. However, the first ever achievements in any field have no prior knowledge, experience and they may have been possible by multiple reasons and attempts.

To begin with, people have relied on the accumulated knowledge and experience from our ancestors which allow not only a deeper perspective of any field but also develop new methods and expand or sprout new areas in any fields. For instance, achievements in modern medicine would have been impossible without pursuing the previous studies and empirical experiences conducted by generations of doctors and scientists. The great discovery of Penicillin by Pastor to protect body against infectious diseases has been a paragon for the doctors in modern medicine to treat various lethal infectious ailments.

Furthermore, the great advancement in technology emerges from past knowledge and inventions. Technology has made the world smaller and smaller day in day. People are simply connected by the Internet and cell phones. As a huge breakthrough, the idea of developing the Internet came from ways of communication in the British Army camp generally called as ARPANET that facilitated the way for good communication for the military activities ultimately led to development of the Internet. New state of the art electronic devices such as smart phones and medical equipment are frequently presented to the market just due to the prior attempts and achievements of the scientists.

In contrast, some may argue that relying on past achievements may hinder creativity and thinking if artists are highly influenced by past artistic luminaries. They would end up imitating the conventions and no new artistic style or school will emerge. To illustrate this, let us take the example of Walt Disney that made a revolution in the entertainment industry to portray stunning characters which humans never imagined. It is also evident that great scientists have been inspired by the pioneering inventors. For example, Albert Einstein dedicated ten years of his life to “Theory of Relativity”. Undoubtedly, Newtonian classic Mechanical Theory was the foundation for the development of Einstein‘s Theory of Relativity. Besides, the idea of possibility of life in other planets would have never been though years ago. Considering this idea and inventing spaceships, scientists began exploring the other planets.

In conclusion, past achievements play a crucial role in inspiring individuals to strive for the progress of wide range of fields. Nevertheless, creativity and thinking will lead to significant changes in particular areas such as art.