Essay Topic 8: Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Dwindling and preserving natural reserves has been a controversial issue in recent years. Many argue that destruction of the few remaining pockets of wild life should be prevented as this endangers natural habitats of species even if it leads to economic benefits. On the contrary, others claim that the welfare of people is as important as the conservation of wildlife. Therefore, governments attempts must be made to find ways to protect nature and people’s needs.

It is evident that wilderness is habitats of multitude of species. Economic development would cause irreversible damage. It will place some aspects on the verge of extinction. To exemplify this, deforestation of northern areas of Iran has threatened habitat of Persian tiger in recent years. Some other species like squirrel and birds were died of environmental changes since they had to move to other areas. In addition, using and contaminating natural resources such as water due to economical developments has caused drought. We must bear in mind that once some species become extinct and their habitats are destroyed, they cannot be revitalized. According to the saying” Rome was not built in a day”, it will probably take hundreds of years to fix the ruined forests and natural landscapes. Furthermore, nature is just not for the species but it also belongs to the next generations. They have the right to see the nature and various species and use the natural resources as part of their life requirements. Thus, wildlife must be preserved.

In contrary, some would tend to argue that the economic development of various natural areas could help preserve the wildlife and other resources. Many endangered species and forests could be protected with the help of scientific developments. As some wilderness areas could turn to tourist resorts under the supervision of government and environmentalists, the income from such resorts could be used for protecting other natural areas. For instance, there are no sufficient water and food resources for the animals in south part of Iran. Thus, these species could be kept in protected areas and provided with supplies gained by income from other resorts like national parks.

We should also consider the fact that population is increasing. To meet their demands like houses, roads, highways, and food, nature must be used; however, the outcomes of development will be global warming, ozone layer depletion and lack of natural resources. Therefore, the government must pass laws and take actions to ban hunting and polluting the environment by people.

In conclusion, there should be a deep consideration to preserve wilderness areas to protect natural habitats. Considering economical developments as viable for the growing population, some laws must be passed to reduce the damage to the nature.