Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Wilderness areas as in forests play a very important role in the lives of the living beings. Every animal depends on the trees for numerous reasons. But day by day the amount of these areas are being decreased at an alarming rate. People are cutting down trees every now and then thinking about their own benefits but ultimately causing great harm to all the living things on the planet. The reasons behind deforestation is mostly man made which is difficult to stop without having a strong law passed on. So i strongly agree with the statement here for two reasons in particular.

Firstly the most important purpose trees serve for the living things is with oxygen. Unlike other living beings, tree takes carbon-dioxide and exhales oxygen which is the only source of oxygen for the other living beings' breathing. We breathe in the air, of which, oxygen is a vital element. There should be a certain amount of oxygen in the air of an area for a healthy life. Cutting down trees may cause a decrease in oxygen in the air which may lead to a number of respiratory diseases. According to research, there should be 25% area covered with trees for a healthy environment. However, instead of reaching the goal percentage of the requirement, most of the countries have even failed to preserve the amount they possessed earlier as they do not have definite laws regarding this issue. For example, Bangladesh had 13 percent area of forest in the last decade which has decreased to a value of 9 percent only now.

Again, the roots of the tree makes the soil stronger which actually saves the land from natural calamities such as flood, cyclones, tornado etc. One recent Cyclone named "bulbul" was formed in the bay of Bengal area which was even larger than some countries, having the force to cause a historical damage. But the mangrove area worked as a shield to that cyclone and reduced the amount of possible losses at a great extend. Furthermore, the other living things are also contingent upon the trees for food and many other reasons as well. Only trees can independently produce their food through the process of photosynthesis. The other animals just live depending on trees for food directly or indirectly. A reduction in the amount of trees will cause famine to break out and there will be chaos among the living things.

It may primarily seem that wilderness areas can be protected by only depending on our goodwill, but situation does not indicate such thing. Recently Amazon, the biggest rainforest considered as the lungs of the planet was set on fire deliberately by some people concerned about their own benefit. If strict rules are not published to preserve forests soon, such incident may continue to occur causing an ultimate, irreparable damage to the planet. In conclusion, as forest is important to us not for a single reason rather than it is important for a numerous reasons, nations should be concerned to pass laws to preserve it.