Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The Government is obligated to protect its' people from various dangers including the flagrant usage of science technology. Consequently, it seems cogent to limit some parts of the scientific discipline to obviate from the perils but, these limitations should be considered after a breakthrough in human knowledge is made because it may hamper creativity of the great minds.

Admittedly, the government's urge to take a safe path an forestall all sorts of potential danger is understandable. There have been many cases where a scientific knowledge has been used in a destructive manner. For instance, the development of satellites has helped us to facilitate communication and the utilization of GPS, but also helps guide long distance missiles in military situations. Not to mention the surreptitious usage of satellites as spying. Hence, the government should not be blamed for the obsession for wanting to invest in technologies that seem insipid or propitious: they already are familiar with the consequences of misused technology.

Nevertheless, the restrictions on the development of human knowledge could be set after the publishing is finished. Until the discovery is utilized in the real world, nobody will be able to foretell the consequences it will bring. It is the government's and the scientist's common responsibility to ensure that these findings are used in a humanitarian manner, not the other way around. A representative example would be the special relativity theory of Einstein: it both contributed to a mass destruction weapon, and a clean and efficient power source. Therefore, instead of limiting the possibility of a broadened human intellect, the leaders should be aware of the usage of those information and make sure that they are used for good causes.

Last but not least, the circumscription of research may lead to a debilitated imagination and innovation in the field. The knowledge of humans has been able to expand because of great minds of each time were able to make breakthroughs. However, if we hinder the minds of scientists, the human knowledge will be stagnated: no more inventions that make our lives simple, no more pharmaceuticals that meets up with our needs, no deeper understanding about the universe. Instead of censuring on the topics of what researchers are interested, the government should be aware of the consequences and restrict the outcomes to enable the human race to develop once more.

In conclusion, although the government's stance to preclude latent predicaments to ensure public and world safety, the restrictions should be taken after the research is finished. A early limitation will only stop the humans understanding of the universe.